Standing Committees

The Association has established the following standing committees responsible for overseeing and advising on key operations.

Nominating Committee
Canvasses membership to identify suitable candidates to serve in various roles in support of the Association.
Members:  Hope Mizzell (Chair), Tim Brown, Jeff Andresen, Stu Foster and Pam Knox

Awards Committee
Reviews submissions for AASC's Annual Dissertation Award Program and makes recommendation to the Executive Committee on the winning submission.
Members:  Glen Conner, Michael Brewer and Kevin Law

Membership Committee
Reviews Association membership structure and explores and advises on opportunities to provide value for all members.
Members:  Laura Edwards (Chair), Ryan Boyles, Melissa Griffin, Mike Timlin, Monica Deming, Stephanie McAfee, John Nielsen-Gammon, and Justin Glisan

Policy Committee
Advises Association on official policy and informational statements.
Members:  John Nielsen-Gammon (Chair), Hope Mizzell, John Christy, Xiaomo Lin, Dev Niyogi and Rezaul Mahmood

AASC Recognized State Climate Office (ARSCO) Committee
Reviews and provides advice on the ARSCO program.
Members:  Mike Anderson (Chair), Tami Houston, Dave Robinson, Mark Shafer, Stephanie McAffee, Karin Bumbaco, Peter Goble, Nolan Doesken and Tony Bergantino

Mesonet Committee
Provides support for the development and independent operation of AASC-affiliated Mesonets.  Defines standards and identifies best practices for Mesonet operation.
Steering Committee: Stu Foster (chair), Beth Hall, Chris Fiebrich, Dan Leathers, Rezaul Mahmood, Dave Robinson, Glenn Kerr
Functional Standards & Practices Subcommittee: Rezaul Mahmood (chair), Jeff Andresen, Xiaomao Lin, Nathan Edwards, Kevin Brinson
Meteorological Darta & Metadata Subcommittee: Chris Fiebrich (chair), Pat Guinan, Jennie Atkins, Stonie Cooper, Megan Schargorodski, Chip Redmond
Marketing & Sustainability Subcommittee: Dave Robinson (chair), Stu Foster, Mary Knapp, Adnan Akyuz
Darta Aggregation & Regional Services Subcommittee: Beth Hall (chair), Jamie Lahowetz, Dennis Todey, Brent McRoberts

Executive Director Responsibilities Committee
Provides advice to help define Executive Director’s duties and responsibilities.
Members:  David Robinson (Chair), Hope Mizzell, Nancy Selover, Dan Leathers and Marjorie McGuirk

Communications Working Group
Provides communications and content expertise to support the Association.  These include the AASC website, newsletter, social media and other platforms.
Members:  Dave Dubois, Mary Knapp, Stephanie McAfee, Rachel Riley, Samantha Borisoff, Heather Angeloff, Karsten Shein, Marjorie McGuirk, Bryant Korzeniewski, Paul Iniguez and
Lou Vasquez (Technical Lead)